Hundreds of computer programmers and designers went head to head to compete for prizes and bragging rights at the fifth annual Southern Utah Code Camp hosted by Dixie State University November 21st and 22nd. Joshua Aikens, chair of the Dixie Technical Association said this was the largest group ever attending Code Camp. “We eventually had to cut off registrations,” Aikens said. “The Gardner Center Fire Code lets us only cram in 236 bodies.

Jeff Poulton, owner of Rocketmade, a St. George web and mobile development firm and chair of Code Camp, said organizers were thrilled about the participation. “Every tech related firm in the area is looking for talent, and this event is one of the best opportunities to grow the pipeline,” he said.

The event was totally free of charge for participants thanks to southern Utah private industry sponsors. Dixie State University also provided funding, and USTAR, the Utah Science Technology and Research Initiative, provided staff and organizational support.

Code Campers participated in four divisions: rookie, novice, collegiate and industry. The challenge for each division was to create a web or mobile application in 24 hours.  Teams, comprised of 1 to 4 persons, were judged on technical expertise, completeness, aesthetics, novelty and innovation. Commercial viability was also evaluated for collegiate and industry teams.

Judges came from Southern Utah University (SUU), Dixie State University (DSU), Southwest Applied Technology College (SWATC) and private industry.

Winners in each category were:

Rookie: First place, Piano Plus, Plus: Pyper Schmutz, Ben Lords, Ben Woodland  and Marshal Schmutz. Second place, Ibex 4H Club: Isaiah Ellis, and Kirk Jackson. Third place, The Nerdy Narwalls  4-H Club: Bailee Allen – Dixie Middle School, Jayson Heap, Carter Goff and Jaxon Stevens.

Novice: First place, SQUID:  William Chase, Carly Chase, Avery Hess and Josue Martinez. Second place, Jarom Madsen. Third place, Dream Steam:  Jacob Danaldson, Ryan Jensen, Andrew Donaldson and Ryan Nelson.

Collegiate: First place, Hekate Project:  Chas George, Alexander Rodriguez-Vargas, Ricky Haws and Josh Maxwell. Second place, Strix: Brance Boren. Third place, Lazur and the Wolves: Eliott Orr, Austin Peck, Spencer Van Den Eikhof and Justin Reid.

Industry: First place: Piano Tuner App: Bryan Poulsen and Danielle Poulsen. Second Place, Quick Draw: Randy Whitelaw, Brett Tucker, Todd Fisher and Nora Valletta. Third place, Inn Keeper: Li Kane, Simon Bergeron, Drew Calder and Chad Olsen.